Algoma Public Health

  • Facebook
  • Email

Public Health Champions Awarded

Thu, Mar 23, 2023


Shining a light on those who make our community healthier.


This award is given to an individual or organization that has helped to protect and promote community health and advance health equity in Algoma, whether through leading, collaborating, innovating, or fostering opportunities for health for all, together.


The 2022 Public Health Champion(s) were awarded to: Connie Raynor-Elliott (Save Our Young Adults - SOYA), and Harvest Algoma.


They accepted their awards at Algoma Public Health’s Board of Health meeting on March 22nd.


A little over 13 years ago, Connie Raynor-Elliott founded Save Our Young Adults (SOYA), a non-profit, grassroots organization that provides real-time support services and direction to people and their families living with addiction in Algoma.


Harvest Algoma is a hub for food rescue, preparation, and production. Established in 2018, it is a center that not only gathers food donations and distributes them across our community to over 70 partner agencies, it also offers a Community Commercial kitchen for food preparation, large freezers and refrigerators for food storage allowing fresh foods to be processed and saved as a healthy food source.


“We are incredibly proud of this year’s champions and grateful for their longstanding community contributions,” said Dr. Loo, Medical Officer of Health. “Connie (SOYA), and Harvest Algoma have done an incredible job in providing front-line support services that promote the health of residents across Algoma. Our champions – supported by an incredible network of volunteers and staff continue to make an impact in serving individuals and families across our community who are impacted by addiction and food insecurity.”


Some past Champions include:

  • PUC Services Inc. (2021)
  • Lisa Vezeau-Allen - Grocers 4 Good (G4G) (2021)
  • Leila Macumber – Serprent River First Nation (2020)
  • YMCA (2020)
  • Town of Blind River (2020)
  • Dr. Cathy Groh – Elliot Lake Family Health Team (2020)
  • Elizabeth MacMillan (2019)
  • Andre Riopel (2018)