Board of Health

Algoma Public Health

Board of Health

  • Facebook
  • Email

The Algoma Board of Health is the governing body of Algoma Public Health. It is established by the provincial public health legislation, the Health Protection and Promotion Act, RSO 1990 (HPPA) and regulations. 

Boards of health are the governing body and policymakers of public health units. Boards of health monitor all operations within their health unit and are accountable to the community and the Ministry of Health.

All boards of health have a legislated duty to ensure that the public health programs and services required by the HPPA are provided to people who live in the health unit jurisdiction. Public health programs and services are intended to prevent the spread of disease and to promote and protect health. 

The Ontario Public Health Standards (2021), published by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, set out the minimum requirements for fundamental public health programs and services for boards of health. 

Please send any questions, comments or concerns to the attention of the Board for Algoma Public Health. 

To contact the Board Secretary, Tania Caputo, please phone 705-759-5421 or email


Municipal communication that is to be directed to the attention of the Board itself should be sent to the Board's secretary. Any written or electronic communication should be addressed to the "Board of Algoma Public Health (APH)" or "Board Chair of APH" to ensure it is appropriately forwarded. Electronic notification that the communication has been received will be sent from APH.   Our Board meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of the month, and communication related to Board business received by the third Wednesday would be included on the agenda. 


Board Meetings

Board of Health Meetings


2023 Board of Health:





Sally Hagman, Board of Health Chair

Town of Blind River, Town of Spanish, Township of the North Shore

Luc Morrissette,  

1st Vice-Chair / Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee




The City of Elliot Lake 






Deborah Graystone, 2nd Vice-Chair / Chair of the Governance Committee


Province of Ontario

Julila Hemphill


The Municipality of Wawa, Township of White River, Township of Dubreuilville


Loretta O'Neill



The City of Sault Ste. Marie



Matthew Shoemaker



The City of Sault Ste. Marie


Sonia Tassone  The City of Sault Ste. Marie

Suzanne Trivers

Town of Thessalon, Municipality of Huron Shores

Jody Wildman

Town of Bruce Mines, Village of Hilton Beach, Townships of Hilton, Jocelyn, Johnson, Laird, MacDonald, Meredith & Aberdeen Additional, Plummer Additional, Prince, St. Joseph, Tarbutt Township


Last Modified: February, 2023