Board of Health Members

Algoma Public Health

Board of Health Members

  • Facebook
  • Email



Sally Hagman - Board of Health Chair

Sally is a graduate of Lakehead University. During the coarse of her life experiences Sally has resided in Thunder Bay, Ignace, Chapleau, Cochrane, Sault Ste. Marie and Blind River for the past 27 years.  During her tenure in each of these communities, Sally has held positons with the Ministry of Natural Resources, Forestry, Forestry Canada, the North Shore Health Network, the City of Elliot Lake and the Town of Blind River. Sally was also responsible for the recruitment of physicians and locums for Blind River, Thessalon, St. Joseph Island and Manitoulin Island.  In her spare time Sally taught fitness classes for 25 years with proceeds going to community organizations.  Sally is an extensive traveller having visited over 32 countries.  This is Sally’s second term as Mayor of the Town of Blind River.


Luc Morrissette - 1st Vice-Chair, Chair of the Finance & Audit Committee

Luc was born in the northern part of "La Belle Province" and moved to Elliot Lake in the Spring of 1959. A resident of Elliot Lake ever since, he worked at different jobs over the years. In October of 1996, he purchased Alpine Flowers & Gifts. In 2022 he entered the world of politics, "I am a new councillor for the City of Elliot Lake. I love my community, and I hope I can make a difference."

    Deborah Graystone

Deborah was born and raised in Sault Ste. Marie. She completed her Registered Nursing Diploma at Sault College in 1986, Bachelor of Science in Nursing along with Nurse Practitioner Diploma from Laurentian University in 2005. 

She retired in 2021 after 35 years of nursing at the Sault Area Hospital including experience in a variety of roles including N.I.C.U nurse., clinical manager and 14 years as the first Nurse Practitioner in the Emergency Department. 

Deborah was the NP Lead of the steering committee in the development of the Sault's first Nurse Practitioner-Led Clinic and sat as board chair from 2009-2014. She continued as a board member until 2016 and re-joined in 2021 until the present.   Other board experience includes 6 years on the provincial College of Nurses Council from 2014-2020.


Julila Hemphill

Julila has lived in Dubreuilville for four years and took on the counsellor role in October 2022. Dear, to her heart is living in a small town and all it has to offer while also being aware of the challenges we face in Algoma. Julila represents White River, Wawa and Dubreuilville on the APH board.


Don McConnell - 2nd Vice-Chair, Chair of the Governance Committee

Don recently retired as the Director of Planning and Enterprise Services for the City of Sault Ste. Marie, with over 40 years experience working as a planner in Northern Ontario. He has served as a Council Member on the Ontario Professional Planners Institute’s Board, and has been a member of numerous committees related to urban development. Don has a strong intertest in accessibility and active transportation projects and currently chairs the City’s Accessibility Advisory Committee.



Loretta O'Neill

Loretta comes to this Board with over 20 years’ experience in continuous improvement consulting; helping organizations realize efficiencies and streamline operational processes. Her work experience also includes the areas of risk management, regulatory compliance, audit, and business continuity planning. Loretta has previous Board experience in the health care sector as Board chair and as a member of fundraising and governance committees.


Matthew Shoemaker

Matthew was elected as the Mayor of Sault Ste. Marie in the 2022 municipal election, following two consecutive terms on City Council. Always passionate about his hometown, his time as an elected official has been focused on aggressively pursuing new ideas at City Hall that benefit the community as a whole. Matthew obtained his law degree from the University of Ottawa and his Master of Laws from Osgoode Hall Law School. He is currently a partner at Wishart Law Firm. He and his wife, Jenna, have two sons – Hudson and Maxwell – and they all live in Sault Ste. Marie, at the top of Pine Street hill, with their dog, Maple.


Sonia Tassone

Sonia was born and raised in Sault Ste Marie. She completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Ottawa and obtained her certifications in Privacy legislation, program management and technology (CIPP/C, CIPM, CIPT) through the International Association of Privacy Professionals. Sonia’s passion for healthcare is demonstrated through her ongoing 13-year career in Privacy and Security in both acute and primary care throughout Canada. She is currently the Data Privacy Officer for a global virtual care provider active in 175 countries. Sonia’s interests include travel, skiing, fitness and throwing a ball for her Havanese, Revie. This is Sonia’s first term as an Algoma Public Health Board of Health member. 


Suzanne Trivers

Suzanne grew up on a farm outside Thessalon before leaving to attend McMaster University. Over her 30+ year nursing career, Suzanne has worked as staff and in positions of leadership in public health, home & community care, long term care, hospital and now primary care. Suzanne understands the value of all parts or our health care system and seeks to ensure those parts work well together. In her volunteer life as a governor, Suzanne looks to support organizations that impact the wellbeing of people where and how they live. It's always a privilege to provide guidance and encouragement to staff in organizations who are doing their best to make the world a little bit better every day.


Jody Wildman

Jody was raised in Laird Township and has lived in Richards Landing on St. Joseph Island for 25 years. He graduated from Carleton University with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and History and also holds a Certificate in Dispute Resolution from York/Laurentian University. Jody has been on Council with the Township of St. Joseph since 2000 and has been Mayor since 2003.